All Quiet on the Eastern Front?

On Ng Kai Fung’s ‘Wall___Sink’ (2021) exhibition

Dust Hung

 

The local pro-democracy movement participated in majority by Hong Kong younger generation since 2014 subsided with outspread of the 2019 coronavirus; this lengthy socio-political instability resulted massive physical and on-line propaganda or visual responses range from photography, drawings, poster graphics, slogans and site specific demonstration objects. With this agitated background as creative springboard, a fine art student, Ng Kai Fung selected a conceptual photographic direction as a voice from his heart. ‘Wall___Sink’ (2021) represents a personal ‘zeitgeist’ (spirit of the age) and consists of two photography series completed during his academic study, namely the ‘Night’ (2017) and the ‘Sisyphus Metropolis’ (2020).

 

In ‘Night’ (2017) Fung searches his fading existence and identities at distant angles resulted from long exposed self-portraitures among different exterior and interior environments. These low key colored imageries recall ‘noir urbanism’ where the dark atmosphere provided a setting for his phantom-like body and became a strong emotion participation of the lived reality space. The observing photographer maintained a rational distance with the chosen sites but rendered his pathic involvement through gothic aesthetication processes. Fung filled the fragmented night environments with sensitive emotion qualities and symbols, the arranged photographs lined up specific spatial sense with fleeting corporal identity through his enhanced empathetic feelings. The urban space depicted became a platform of negotiation, controversy and re-evaluation of Hong Kong’s official tourism identity as a ‘Pearl of the Orient’; this contradictory discourse furthers in Fung’s succeeding series.

 

The above perceptual experience escalated to a more ambitious scale in ‘Sisyphus Metropolis’ (2020). The photographer used tele-photo lens to shoot the distant architectural views of protest sites happened in 2019, these spots include The Lion Rock, North Point, International Commerce Centre at Kowloon, Wan Chai and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. For each composition he staged a young model, standing alone among the maze like buildings and gazes back to his camera; the minute and detached existence of this youngster requires the viewer’s attentive observation. Fung combined dozens of these segmented architectural shots exposed in different times of the day with Photoshop’s digital stitching function, surrealistic building skin textures are created because of paradoxical mixture of day and night lighting effects. Through digital post-production means the artist dematerialized the urban landscape into monochromatic spaces of null gravity or empty voids; his current projected scenario of a vacuum life aroused gloomy sentiment. Hong Kong as an alienated place is portrayed like remaining tombstones in a quiet ruined district, the phantasm of this apocalypse after Judgement Day is an exhilarating combination of realism and expressionism. ‘Sisyphus Metropolis’ (2020) is a discursive re-structuring of Hong Kong architectural space under immense socio-political pressure, these gothic imaginations can be deciphered beyond the very nature of accepted architectural thinking: Fung’s urban uncanny is dire prediction of an impending crisis, he pushes the conventional notion of our homeland from historical glory to the present state of dystopia through his dark looking glass.

 

Is this a naked truth about Hong Kong’s ‘future’

 

 

 

Dust Hung contributes extensively as photography critic and independent curator. Hung is one of the founding members of the Hong Kong Photographic Culture Association and museum expert advisor (Hong Kong photography) for the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

亂流下的平安?

——關於吳啟峰《我___城》(2021)展覽

 

洪塵

 

自2014開始,本地民主運動有不計其數的香港年青人參與其中,然而民主的浪潮也隨著2019新冠病毒的擴張而被迫暫時減退; 於這漫長的社會政治動盪中,人們以實體、網絡上的文宣,又或是以視覺媒介對其作出回應,當中包括攝影、繪畫、海報圖像、又或是口號及依場合而製作的示威道具。在如此激動人心的環境驅使下,藝術系學生,吳啟峰以概念攝影方向創作,去重塑、組織及訴說於運動中的思緒及心情。《我___城》(2021)代表着一種「時代精神」,是次展覽包含了藝術家於修讀藝術期間創作的兩個攝影系列: 《夜》(2017)及《薛西弗斯之城》(2020)。 

 

於《夜》(2017)中,吳氏利用長時間曝光與計時自拍的攝影方式,遠距離拍攝他自身於室外及室內的身影,找尋自己於此城漸被褪去的存在及身分。系列中的低色調彩色影像讓人想起「黑色都市主義」,他那鬼魅般的身影置身於那些陰暗的場景當中,繼而對那真實的生活空間注入強烈情感。藝術家保持著理性去觀察他選定的地點,卻又通過哥特德式審美化過程而參與其中。他用敏銳的情感與符號去填充碎片化的黑夜空間,以對其轉瞬即逝的身份所產生的強烈共鳴感去鋪排及組合他的相片,使其具備特有的空間感。作品中所描繪的城市轉化成一個討論的平台,去探討及重新評估這座曾被香港旅遊業官方美名為「東方之珠」的城市。於吳啟峰的後續攝影系列中,更進一步指出及呈現這個帶矛盾的說法。

 

上述的感知經驗於作品《薛西弗斯之城》(2020)之中更進一步,更具規模的擴張延伸。攝影師使用遠攝鏡頭,以遙遠距離拍攝2019年期間社會運動發生的地點中的建築或景觀,包括獅子山、北角、環球貿易廣場(ICC),灣仔及香港理工大學。於每一個作品中,他也安置一個人物獨自置身處於由高樓大廈所組成的迷宮中,默然凝視他的鏡頭;觀看者需要專注凝視這個片刻的定格,去找尋找這青年人孑然的身影。吳氏於晝夜之間,不同時間點拍攝同一場景,細膩地分階段紀錄光影,並以數碼拼接處理,數十張相片合而為一 ——混合城市日與夜之間矛盾的照明,於作品中創造了建築物表面上超現實的紋理。透過後期的數碼製作,藝術家能將現像城市景觀解構成失去重力且空洞的單色空間;同時也是作為他對於現實悲觀情緒的情感投射。香港被描繪得如此疏離,恍如一堆於安靜廢墟中留下的墓碑們,如此這般世界末日的幻象,是一個將現實主義和表現主義結合的震撼。《薛西弗斯之城》(2020)是在巨大的社會政治壓力下對香港建築空間的話語重組,這些哥特德式幻想可以解讀成一種超越既有建築思維的想像:吳氏創作中那弔詭城市的不尋常,是對即將到來的危機的極端預測。透過他那陰暗的觀望鏡,將人們對經年來習以為常的看法推倒 ——昔日具美名的我城,於鏡頭下卻成為了反烏托邦。

 

這會否就是關於香港「未來」的赤裸真相?

 

 

 

 

洪塵從事攝影藝評及獨立策展工作。洪氏是香港攝影文化協會創辦成員之一;亦現任香港特別行政區康樂及文化事務署博物館專家顧問(香港攝影)